1. Home
  2. /
  3. Politics
  4. /
  5. Argentina Decides Not to...

Argentina Decides Not to Join BRICS Bloc as Anticipated, Announces Milei’s Transition Team Member

Credit: DepositPhotos

A senior official from President-elect Javier Milei’s team revealed on Thursday that Argentina will not be joining the BRICS bloc of developing economies next year as originally planned.

In a statement made on X, formerly Twitter, Diana Mondino, who Milei has chosen as the future foreign minister, affirmed, “We will not join the BRICS.” This decision provides a glimpse into the significant shift in Argentina’s foreign policy that will take place under Milei’s right-wing populist administration.

During his campaign, Milei, a libertarian, voiced strong criticisms against China and even threatened to sever diplomatic ties with the country. In an interview with former Fox News host Tucker Carlson, he stated, “I am not going to do business with any communist.”

Although he has since softened his rhetoric after winning the November election, Milei has continued to denounce the leftist government of Brazilian President Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva.

Throughout the campaign, Milei, who is an admirer of former President Donald Trump, repeatedly emphasized that if elected, his key allies would be the United States and Israel.

Mondino had previously diminished the significance of BRICS by stating that it was more of a political alignment rather than offering any tangible trade advantages. She added, “We already have diplomatic and trade relations with most of them,” in an interview two weeks ago.

Read More: Biden Walks Off Set During MSNBC Interview, Prompting Criticism and Online Reactions

Argentina was among six countries invited in August to join the BRICS bloc, which consists of Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa, effectively expanding it into an 11-nation alliance. The scheduled date for Argentina’s inclusion was January 1, 2024. 

Also Read: Bombshell Unleashed! Hunter Biden Caught in a Whirlwind of Drugs, Nudity, and Family in Shocking Laptop Photo Leak!

Credit: DepositPhotos

President Alberto Fernández had expressed his enthusiasm for the invitation at the time, believing that it would open up new market opportunities for Argentina.

The BRICS bloc was originally established in 2009 by Brazil, Russia, India, and China, with South Africa joining in 2010.

Read Next: Biden Stares Blankly at Press, Exits Room During Meeting with NATO Secretary General


Malik is a skilled writer with a passion for news and current events. With their keen eye for detail, they provide insightful perspectives on the latest happenings. Stay informed and engaged!